One Man

Tell me once more, hidden

In every heart that I ever felt

The walk in a crescent path

Countless beyond doubt

That my reap opposes my sow?

Tell me again that I chose to

Fall, to stumble and fall again

Even when there are many of men

Under the sun and dancing in the rain

Would I be love’s judges?

Tell me thereafter when sorrow’s

cup pours, and my cheeks grow weary

That I was born not of Love but

Of the world and its apprentices

Shan’t I be the same?

One man taught me how to love

How love hates, how to be a woman

Even when the heart bleeds, I sing

Isn’t this more revealing than the word itself?

Man that I couldn’t forsake!

Dyna Ekwueme Copyright, 2015

One thought on “One Man

Leave a Reply

