Song of Innocence – U2

Cedarwood Road

Picture from>>>The Hollywood Reporter<<<

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I was running down the road

The fear was all I knew

I was looking for a soul that’s real, then I ran into you

and that cherry blossom tree was a gateway to the sun

and friendship once it’s one, it’s one, it’s one

………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

North side just across the river to the south side

that’s a long way here

All the green and all the gold,

The hurt you hide, the joy you hold

the foolish pride that gets you out the door (sends you back for more)

upon cedarwod, Cedarwood road

……………………………………………………………………………………………………

Sleepwalking down the road not waking from these dreams

cause it’s never dead, it’s still in my head

It was a war zone in my teens, I’m still standing on that street

still need an enemy, the worst ones I can’t see

you can, you can

………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

If the door is open it isn’t theft

You can’t return to where you’ve never left

blossoms falling from a tree, they cover you and cover me

symbols clashing, bible smashing, paint the world you need to see

and sometimes fear is the only place that we can call our home

CEDARWOOD ROAD

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

and a heart that is broken is a heart that is open

open

open.

I call U2 lyrical poets. They don’t just write meaningful words but they also involve me in their lyrics. My moments in the past and my present self amalgamates anytime I listen to their songs. Not the ones I’m aware of but those that I overlook, those that mould me without me realizing. Their songs are thought-provoking and inspiring in a different way that words can’t tell. Have a listen to their songs, just maybe you would get to feel this amazing ache of mine.

Cedarwood road is a soul song for me. It connected every string that was cut off and made me realise that bitter is an amazing kind of sweet when I learn to be open. Below is the link to the song and the lyrics is what I have written above. The broken lines demarcates the verses from the bridge and the bridge from the chorus. Listen and tell me what you think about it too. Thank you much

Cedarwood Road- U2

Dyna Ekwueme Copyright, 2015.

Leave a Reply

