Summer as a carer

Each day I go to work is a different day entirely. There is always something new to learn, another war story to hear, another rare life to know about, something we could regard as insane now to wow at. Most days I come home happy and other days it ends sad. Whatever the case may be, I’m sure to learn something new every time I go to work. Working as a care assistant for an agency has exposed me to little towns around Brighton, far east and far west, it made me realize how a lot of  families that have got elderly people are dependent of care homes to aid them look after their own. It has broadened my understanding about what the outside world looks like when it comes to some disabilities and genetic diseases and most of all it has drawn me closer to what I have always wanted to do my whole life, look after the old.

Yes,I know it’s an odd thing to be passionate about but it’s a wonderful experience and joy to make an old person happy, think about your grand ma/pa! Some people would be wandering what I do for 12 hours with old people, isn’t it boring? No it isn’t. The truth is that some times I spend an extra hour with them before going home. Old folks are the sweetest people to be with if you are willing to have patience with them, think of a matured baby who knows more than you do. They are the easiest people to talk and relate with no matter where you think you are from. When they tell stories, it feels so natural, so doable with no forms of exaggeration. When I found this job, it took me back to what I had always wanted and I’m sure not looking back to anything else other than geriatrics.

Once, a 98 year old woman told me how she eloped at 19 years of age to go marry her boyfriend, they were wedded by a bishop in London and they moved to Scotland because of the war between Germany and England. They settled there and had kids. She told me of her attachment to her church and how the church brought her up. She wrote too. Poems of everything and anything that she caught sight of. No one really took her writings seriously, she said, but never for once did she stop writing. She owned a farm and reared 72 cows with her husband and children. I told her that I write too and she was amazed. I could see through her smile that she was much delighted to must have met a girl who does the same thing she did. After I had told her so, she reached for a big album that looked like a picture album. This woman had written 1000 poems from when she was little to her very age and her family had made an album for them. I was short of words. I started skimming through and tried reading one of it which was titled “the same old theatre”. What shocked me more was that she recited it along with me and I asked her how she was able to do that at her age and she said to me “imaginations are lies but reality is a tale”.

I would never forget her. I was pained that I wasn’t posted at her care home the next day and more pained still that I still haven’t been posted there. She was the sweetest thing I ever met, she never gave me an advise but I take her life as one. I can’t put down the whole conversation we had on here because it was more than just words. I had been taken to the earliest 1990’s with her story,her life was an inspiration and I’m glad to must have met her and cared for her.

If you enjoy what you do even with all bitter sides, you would always find good in it. I am happy to must have worked and still working as a carer this summer. School starts in two weeks plus and I’ll so miss doing this 5 days a week and 12 hours for 24. This is my career passion and working as a carer is just a foundation to more.

Dyna Ekwueme Copyright, 2015.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Louis Medici says:

    Doing what you love as a career — there’s nothing better!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ipeniwrite says:

    yeess!.. Thank you for reading through 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jfwknifton says:

    Yes, old people have seen and done the most incredible things. I met one once who had been on the Jarrow Crusade. (Google it, if you don’t know what it was)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ipeniwrite says:

    Aww that must have been a great achievement for him looking back at it. I appreciate your effort to must have read my piece. Thank you

    Like

  5. Dora says:

    your last paragraph really got me. it a really nice thing you do here

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ipeniwrite says:

    Am happy it did Dora..thank you for visiting my page💛

    Like

  7. ARITIMYSTIC says:

    Very nice. Personal. I like your pic too. Keep it up.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. ipeniwrite says:

    Thank you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

