The end between two ends

Couple standing at two ends of a tunnel Stock Photos Picture from –Stock Illustrations

I remember those early days, we trusted tomorrow so much that we lost touch of what yesterday felt like. We would light candles whenever it got darker in the evenings and mock each other’s unawareness of our native riddles. Some nights, the rain visited and I’d cuddle with the boys under our huge blanket. No one reminded us of time. Time only made us realize ourselves when days waved their goodbyes.

The street nearly named us but they couldn’t knowing that we were the street itself. I’d play football naked in the mud and even under the rain with my pant joggling on my tiny waist. I’d put my siblings on a wheelbarrow and wheel them from street to street until I get weary of people yelling “crazy!” at me. I seldom loved the smell of bruises but cried from their pains. Something about those days made me write again.

I now ask myself for permission to play, I even categorize fun as mature and a litle bit awkward. I’ve lost that childhood freedom to go through tiny tunnels, swing as high as never or even say something out of  free will without being thought as naive. Even with all these cautiousness, I still never admit that I admire children, their innocence and open-mindedness to learn. Their soft yet timid heart, their stubbornness to restraints and most especially their quite freedom.

We can’t always lose track of where we’ve been even if we don’t want to go back there. Some people never had good childhood memories and you can never blame them for it. Some went through physical, mental and spiritual pain, abuse, isolation, poverty, loneliness and what have you and they lived through it, looking back on those days till today. A lot of people embrace their childhood even with all the soreness it left them because it has made them that better tomorrow they never saw then.

Life is a runway. We would all get to the frontline at some point, be seen, loved and appreciated before we leave the earth. Don’t be stuck in the ugliness of how the present moment looks like, instead be excited about your beautiful tomorrow. You are yours truly, love.

Dyna Ekwueme Copyright, 2015.

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Xmetrist says:

    Lovely. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. ipeniwrite says:

    Thank you..I appreciate πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kinjalparekh says:

    This is beautiful!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Lakshmi says:

    Wow! πŸ™‚
    I wrote something about my childhood a while back and I was actually kind of vain about having written a good article..
    https://notionlux.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/house-no-4/
    But this! Simply wow..!! Humbled. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  5. ipeniwrite says:

    Thank you Kinjal πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ipeniwrite says:

    I just read yours Lakshmi and it’s so full of energy and little details I did pay attention to when I was still a kid. I could tell that it was as beautiful as you had written. Thank you for making it to my page to read about mine. You are welcome more often πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. namelessneed says:

    a fine job & lovely read this morning/ thanx & keep on. G.R.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. ipeniwrite says:

    Thank you πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. I have just started exploring your blog entries, Dyna. I paused here –such beauty in expression and thought both. Thank you for recently following my blog, Contemplative Fire. I will continue to explore here. Please do the same within my blog, if it so calls to you.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. ipeniwrite says:

    Thank you for stopping to have a read. I appreciate 😊..I sure will..expect me more often πŸ‘

    Like

  11. Sorry I am responding so late – I just discovered you! And so glad I did. This post reminds me of a saying my best friend often says – It’s never too late to have a happy childhood.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. ipeniwrite says:

    Aww I’m glad you stumbled over this blog..thank you Anne ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

  13. coolestcharlie says:

    lovely. We all miss those little fun days

    Liked by 1 person

  14. ipeniwrite says:

    Yes we do πŸ™‚

    Like

  15. Beautifully expressed and so well written. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. ipeniwrite says:

    Thank you πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

