Checklist of a Biomedical Science student

Being a biomedical student in my first year was like my foundation program where everything was set out for me with proper guidelines and much push arounds to get me to stick my eyes to my books. I didn’t get the bigger picture of university life neither did I have a prescise direction to where I was headed. I was more or less just living and attending lectures. All I was aware of was that, I was in the University of Brighton, studying biomedical science and someday I’ll get to graduate from it, lol.

Second year didn’t come with a shock following the resits I had written over the summer. It was more or less like the main meal to me than starter. I made a plan, set my targets and had since been devoted to them. I came to embrace difficulties and complex subjects that I had always pushed aside. Things slowly started making sense, it still is tho:). Academically, I’m glad on how far I’ve come this semester even though I’ve got just two weeks left to christmas break. I’m satisfied with my engagement and the results of my efforts lately.

Alright! Enough rants about second year. I just finished with my preparation activity for a lab class I have this Wednesday in analytical chemistry and decided to put up a checklist for my student bloggers and those that are happy to know what I go with to study.
These are the necessities I take along with me each time I have a long-hour session in the library, at most 6-8 hours.

Firstly, If you are intending on studying for that long, you should expect mother nature to come competing with your eye balls. Yes! I mean sleep, especially when you’re not just making sense of what you’re reading. So? grab a cup of coffee or tea.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Starbucks coffee 🙂

I love water bottles. I take mine to all lectures not just the library because I easily get thirsty. Call me a baby, I don’t care haha. Atleast they fill me when I get those rumbles in my stomach after deliberately missing breakfast.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Star wars water bottle 😀

I call this next one my personal purse. I stack my stationaries in it including my lip balm  and memory stick. It comes in handy when I need to lend some highlighters.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Zip it!..

A bad pen makes for a bad handwriting and  bad mood for writing too. Make sure to choose the right pen when thinking of having one. I love Bic pens. Been using these ones since september and they still rock. Although the red one’s begging to be trashed already, I still cherish it lol.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Bic pens

The calculator couldn’t wait for its turn so it literally bombed my pens’ picture. If you’re a scientist, you should know better to have a calculator. Most people can relate to casio, few cannot. Well I can!

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Casio

There’s nothing more refereshing than using A4 plain sheets to study. A lot of people won’t buy this idea but I think it’s great for usage  because it is easily disposable, it makes you do more work than using a book and it’s convenient. A book limits you in the sense that you get more cautious about it finishing so you tend to prioritize, sort of :). Just my opinion tho.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
A4 sheets

Fooooooood! I think I’m literally the only person who goes to library prepared with all kinds of food. Fruits, snacks and proper dishes haha. I really can’t do the studying thing without food, so I go prepared :D. On your left is a staple food well known in Nigeria and it’s called garri and on your right is McVities biscuits. Oh well, finished it before blogging , sorry :D. Had some grapes too.

 

If you are like me who likes using a lot of textbooks for a subject, then you’re welcome to the party. I feel more comfortable borrowing atleast three to four textbooks from the library for a subject I want to fully understand. If one textbook works best for you, goodluck!

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Chemistry Textbooks

All these have to go in somewhere don’t they? That’s why we’ve all got school bags. I had this one nicked from a mate of mine in my first year and since then I haven’t given it back lol. “At the end we shall all possess school bags”-unknown (sorry that was me :D) hehe

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Apparently my school bag 🙂

I bet you’re exhausted reading this magazine of mine. Well here’s the last accessory I take with me these days. It’s been quite windy in Brighton due to the after math of the Hurricane that lasted somewhere I really don’t know but I care to. So I study with my snood most times because it gets quite cold inside especially at night. Here’s my brown fluffy snood 🙂

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Snoody kinda day 😛

These are my main cannot-do-withouts (if there’s a word like that). Feel free to ask me any questions whatsoever on them. I would entertain weird and okay questions :). Its been an exciting year for me, somehow not quite but It feels good to progress.

If you are a student, worker or just a blogger,  I challenge you to post your cannot-do-without check list. Do tag me and  I’ll sure repost it on my blog. Thank you for wasting your time reading mine haha :). Have a Beautiful night rest in your own part of the world.

 

Dyna Ekwueme Copyright, 2015.

 

11 thoughts on “Checklist of a Biomedical Science student

  1. Anonymous November 29, 2015 / 10:46 pm

    You are a good student..
    Keep it up

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ipeniwrite November 29, 2015 / 10:47 pm

    Thanks to Someone 🙂

    Like

  3. ahliesantiago December 1, 2015 / 11:14 pm

    Ha, I was just one my way to the library when I read this! I relate so much. 🙂 Unfortunately, our libraries don’t allow food and drinks except water (I do sneak in coffee in my flask though).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ipeniwrite December 2, 2015 / 4:10 am

    Aww poor you..thanks for having a read before going in :)..you are welcome more often

    Like

  5. bookwormgirls123 December 29, 2015 / 5:47 pm

    I need to get myself one of those! Good to hear. Now I’m hungry! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Leanne January 5, 2016 / 10:06 am

    This reminds me so much of my college days! I studied chemical biology 🙂 Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

