The seven personalities of one self

“Every teenager have got their devils, it’s left for you to befriend them..”

Picture gotten from-Saatchiart

Who was the “jack of all trade” as a teenager?

I vividly remember being one.

Not necessarily doing anything and everything but, that age I believe, keeps us all involved.

We all had the mood switch syndrome as teenagers, today we like something and the next day we choose another over it. We fight so hard not to believe that 80% of what we are told is true, if not 100. Sometimes, we lose balance trying to question them all. We get wounded in the process and find alternatives to heal. It isn’t always a big problem as long as we remain open and willing as we always are as teens.

I remember blaming others when my own plans don’t get to sort itself out. How easily I always get to lose a bit of my self esteem, when I’m cracked open by mishaps or others. I can’t also forget the time I started building up insecurities, being inwards and letting other peoples’ ego rule me.

I always wanted to be the “cool kid” and at the same time have a normal life. All these were somewhat challenging as my background didn’t quite fit in with them. I was then left with one person I could be whilst trying every other option, myself. I chose to become a tomboy. My seven personalities were all embedded in being one. It was never forced as I spent my teenage years with my younger siblings, the boys.

These personalities as many as they were kept me going surprisingly. However, seven of them were sort of like a ” trade mark” for me.

  • The peoples’ pleaser“- She would go any length to keep you as a friend, protect her image and make others like her even when she’s losing part of her own self.
  • Drama Queen“- As tragic as the name sounds for me, I was more of the drama than the queen. I played a role in each gossip you hear.
  • Imaginary life/ fantasy“- I would always come up with unreal people that are in my life and tell you continuous stories about them. I had one told about having elder brothers in high school and sadly my friends till date still believe I do.
  • Fake actress“- I would always act my way out of chaos  and what have you.
  • Girl on the know“- I think this particular personality still lives on as I still get enthused about what’s trending and what’s not.
  • Innocent one“- I’d kill every doubt left in your mind with a naive and pitiful look just to convince you to believe me. This character is no longer working for me as I’m getting older everyday, I guess. Most teenagers use this anyway.
  • Tom boy“- I still am a tomboy but in a really girlish way now. When I was still a teenager, I’d wrestle with my brothers after every wrestling match we saw, play soccer and do the most daring challenges. I used to rather sit and chat for hours with boys than girls. What changed me? I’m still trying to figure out..partly my sister.

Every teenager have got their devils, it’s left for you to befriend them or let the teen deal with them. I lived with these, not to say that many other teenagers are likely to be this way but every teenager has traits that he/she is known for. It only takes time to readjust to reality.

What are you taking out from today’s episode of TTTT lovelies?

#TeenTransitionToTwenty

 

Dyna Ekwueme Copyright, 2016.

14 thoughts on “The seven personalities of one self

  1. Xmetrist March 9, 2016 / 7:15 am

    Beautifully written. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. omniavitae March 9, 2016 / 12:30 pm

    Lmaooo. So you do not have any elder brother who studied law? I’m dumbfounded. Anyway, I could say I haven’t fought these devils at all. Maybe I haven’t tried just hard enough because I could see myself in every number up there but I’m still waiting on my own change-trigger whilst trying to make this change on my own even though I don’t know where or how to begin.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ipeniwrite March 9, 2016 / 1:43 pm

    πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ oh no I don’t😭…atleast you got to experience some of mine with me. That’s why we are twins 😩 don’t you see? You don’t need to wait on your change cause it’s happening already love. Thank you for sharing your thoughts 🌸

    Like

  4. Fijay March 9, 2016 / 8:43 pm

    Oh Dyna you have know idea how much I am loving the TTTT…..hmmmm so I need to befriend the Devils appearing in my teen? ….RIGHT will try my best!:D:D:D
    Oh …and Dyna …the ‘innocent one’ …hmmmm don’t think you’ve lost it quite yet …just LOOK at that pic …..I bet you can still pull that one off:D:D….your posts ALWAYS get my brain cogs whirring …and often make me laugh so much …LOVE your writing:)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ipeniwrite March 10, 2016 / 1:52 am

    I’m really happy you are loving it..yes I guess so…I use it on my parents a lot and teachers but here in uni no one gets to scold me as much so it hasn’t been of much of use for me latelyπŸ˜‚ would probably try it when I go back to Nigeria on my mumπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚..Thank you so much Fijay🌸 I appreciate your presence here all the time

    Like

  6. shaheenmumtaz March 10, 2016 / 5:28 am

    Once agian, incredible. Well, I can relate myself to it, as I am still the same acts as Tom boy, though is innocent one and like to please people, so that nobody gets hurt. πŸ˜€ and with time people get change and so do we have to get change too, otherwise, we cannot live in the contemporary societ. Though being living in fantasy we must not lose the sight of ‘Reality’.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ipeniwrite March 10, 2016 / 9:35 am

    I’m glad you can dear..and you’re right about us shedding our old skin to wake up to adulthood. It’s constant..thank you for your thoughts 🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  8. theanonymouscherif March 14, 2016 / 1:37 am

    Your teens were certainly a behavioural kaleidoscope.I havent really changed much.Still the quiet,shy,smart guy folks have known.
    And did you really give that “please agree with me look”? lol

    Liked by 1 person

  9. ipeniwrite March 14, 2016 / 7:23 am

    Yeaa, I guess I’m still always trying to change and evolve. Consistency goes well with idealists I guess πŸ˜„..yes!😁 85% of the time

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

