For every wasted pain

Pain is divine

pain is growth

pain is a drug

pain is a kind of touch

pain lives

pain is an experience

Picture gotten from-Syria

For every wasted pain, there is divinity, there is growth, you heal, you feel, you have the courage to move on and live your life but most importantly, you learn. For every wasted pain, there is a fulfilling gain.

As a teenager, I always worried about not doing things right, about not meeting or living up to the expectations of my parents, about being the weird and awkward one. I broke rules, lied, dissappointed myself and went to deep ends in search of the truth I was already told. I derailed in most journeys, lost touch, hid, cried and returned. People were still people. The only change there was back then, was the one pain brought.

I remember my first failure ever in high school, mathematics. I was in the third year of my junior secondary, and the top class in my set. I never saw it coming but it did come anyway. My dad scolded the life out of me, I felt really bad not for myself but for him. I thought about the investment he had made in my life and the result I had come home with and promised myself never to fail mathematics in my life again. I hid my results the whole year from my mates, it was a pain to endure as I wasn’t open and vulnerable about it.

I also remember being known for my terrible grammar and thick native accent. One part of me despised the other, leaving me with the sore of bearing what people threw at me  and my broken self. However, smile and laughter was my only revenge, as they did help most times.

I looked back and thought before putting this down. If I were perfect back then? ipeniwrite wouldn’t exist. If 100 percent of the time I pleased my parents, there would have been nothing left to teach me. If my grammar and accent was like the rest, I probably wouldn’t try to pick up a few words or even bother to fake a British accent, like I always do every now and then.

I have come to realize that I grew partly from pain. I’m here because I lived through it. I didn’t let it suffocate me, I didn’t push so hard to unravel people’s mysteries. For every pain I felt was wasted as a teenager, it made me a better adult. I urge you to grow too from pain, dear teen.

What is it that fascinated you about today’s episode of TTTT?

#TeenTransitionToTwentyWritingSeries

Dyna Ekwueme Copyright, 2016.

6 thoughts on “For every wasted pain

  1. L. van Ree March 12, 2016 / 5:12 pm

    Wow, very relatable post! No one likes pain, but I think you did a wonderful job showing the blessings pain grants us.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ipeniwrite March 12, 2016 / 5:37 pm

    I’m glad you can relate to this post. Thank you for sharing your thoughts🌸

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

