Enough

One word we don’t know how to quantify as it’s got no value.

sad-man

Picture gotten from-Icouldn’tkeep

We don’t always know when to say “enough” that’s why we always choose to accept. Accept whatever it is that is thrown to us. We settle, we concur, we say “yes”, we agree, we follow, we depend on, we refuse to fight, we don’t think long term, we don’t assess , we just accept that it is enough.

Let’s talk about ourselves, the sort of relationships we build with other people. If we all begin to evaluate our priorities and name the things we really need and not want, the list would probably be precise and straight to the point as they are urgent and necessary to keep us moving on, opposed to our wants or bucket lists. The sad thing about doing the same with people is that we fail to weed. We get on with the unnecessary, prioritize the unwanted, keep the wanderers, do it all for the selfish and what not. We choose to hurt and allow ourselves to be ridden on. Our self-worth begin to mean nothing, weakness and lack of self confidence and respect starts to  kick in. Not that we do not realize ourselves and these happenings when they do, but the zeal to fight and say “it’s enough” is not there.

People are different and I believe part of the reason why “enough” has got no value is due to the society we live in. Some people were born to accept, some were born into acceptance, some don’t even know what it means to fight back and others breed in them silence that kills and stings. You can’t say enough because you are probably thinking “what will people say” or maybe you are afraid of being alone or perhaps you feel voiceless. Remember that, saying “enough” can also be done by the way you carry yourself, the way you see and present yourself, the way you oppose short-term happiness, pride and what have you. Saying “enough” with your mouth is never enough until you put it to action.

Choose not to settle for what’s detrimental, choose your own happiness (long term), self-worth and respect over what could possibly not be enough for you. Choose you before them.

Would like to know if you’ve ever been in a situation you had to say “enough” to or even scenarios in which “enough” is not said and done enough. Tell me dear bloggers. Thank you.

Dyna Ekwueme Copyright, 2016.

29 Comments Add yours

  1. shimmy440 says:

    I think some people (I include myself) need to learn to not bang their heads against brick walls. I’ve been doing better on that over the last couple of years. Others perhaps need to be more persevering. So which direction you need to move in will depend on where you start from. And always it’s subject to context, no absolute rules apply, and about having the wisdom to know what to apply in a given circumstance with a given person. A good touchstone may be whether a given relationship makes you feel better or worse about yourself. If its the latter, then it’s time to quit if you’ve given it your best shot. Those are the ones I have been weeding out.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. ipeniwrite says:

    I believe a lot of people including myself too struggles when it comes to perseverance and at the end of the day it all comes down to what you’re holding on to, whether it makes you feel better or worse about yourself like you said. Most hold unto the worst for reasons best known to them and figuring out when to say “enough” sometimes gets too late and this leaves them with the option to remain. I believe however, there’s always a way out of pitfalls. I’m glad you can relate to this post Shimmy😊 and I appreciate your thoughts on this subject. Thank you.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. chrisdavies09 says:

    Have said “enough” to a relationship. Have said “enough” to a job. Have said “enough” to people who like to only talk negative. Have said “enough” to food at the Chinese buffet even when I could have eaten way more!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. ipeniwrite says:

    Awww bless..thank you for being vulnerable🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  5. One of the most important “enoughs” I said was to an ex. Best word I could have used. Excellent post and question.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ipeniwrite says:

    I’m grateful you shared this. Thank you🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ruchitaa. says:

    Thank you for stopping by my blog and following it. 🙂 have a great day/night.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. ssunshine14 says:

    Enough is said only when you didn’t learn to say no..though some situations are not in our hands,but we should know when to say enough..nice post..

    Liked by 1 person

  9. ipeniwrite says:

    Yes dear..thank you for sharing your thoughts 🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sisi Akowe says:

    You are right!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. ipeniwrite says:

    Thank you🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  12. stoutishblog says:

    You write very well.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. stoutishblog says:

    I am new at wordpress.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. stoutishblog says:

    Would you mind seeing my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Very Nice…and true that (y)

    Liked by 1 person

  16. ipeniwrite says:

    Thank you 🌸

    Like

  17. D'Dream says:

    Thanks so much for liking my blog and following it, really appreciated.

    Enough can be a difficult to say or just like ‘Goodbyes’. However it depends on the context and the situations that calls for it. We shouldn’t lose our sense of respect just to belong where we don’t fit

    Liked by 1 person

  18. ipeniwrite says:

    You welcome..that is right. When we lose it we find it even harder to say. Thank you for sharing this🌸

    Like

  19. Very good point=)

    Liked by 1 person

  20. I really relate to this post. You, funnily enough, have raised a question that I have been battling with in my head for a while now, pertaining to a certain matter. Just last night I was asking myself – what is my breaking point? – I am having a tough time saying ‘enough’; a tough time putting my needs before the needs of some people who need me to be exactly where I am in my life right now. I think my comment has turned into a vent and a bit of a ramble! 🙂 But I just wanted to say that I appreciate and relate to the point you have raised.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. ipeniwrite says:

    To find yourself, you begin with questions and then realization. I’m glad you’ve been able to pass through both stages and I’m also glad you made it to this post. Thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

