Purgatory

A poem of thorns pinned on bed of roses

Picture gotten fromElectricshadow

The growth of fear began in guilt,

well polished and hidden by lies.

Only those who feel for you,

read meaning into your choice of how you wish to pray.

Sacred.

I met a stranger,

I met her lost in thoughts of how she chose love over power,

how she neither sang nor danced with her lover.

The existence of crisis without Christ, how rhetorical it was.

Meanwhile,

I kept busy.

Ignoring the help that was needed from me,

The excuses for not reading the holy book pilled up.

“You only live once”, words enough for the foolish.

I made my own rules for the new era.

The peoples’ people era.

“Show me more of that dance! Kill me with profanity!”

“speak in pagan tongues love, that’s the only language I hear”.

The other world is coming soon,

unprepared as we all are in a hurry to live whilst living.

I imagine atonement sometimes, the impatience to be found worthy

the suspense of hell or paradise. Not so serene, is it?

What is  this place? Who can bail  me? What could I have done better on earth? Who am I now?

Now.

I found inspiration in fear, love and in meditation. I also thought of this place

where they hibernate,

where three languages are spoken in the same mother tongue.

If only we saw what’s coming before it came,

redirecting the pointing-fingers to ourselves,

refraining from judging.

If only we knew of this place, if it exists or not.

We’d be dining with God.

Tell me more about purgatory, but not here.

Dyna Ekwueme Copyright, 2016.

 

7 thoughts on “Purgatory

  1. Alan J. Blaustein June 30, 2016 / 3:57 am

    A fine, subtle rhythm throughout in this well-done poem. We create our own purgatory, sentence ourselves to it, then wonder why we are there.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Izrael July 21, 2016 / 3:11 pm

    Very detailed and mesmerizing poem from the start to end. Your writing is so insightful that made me lost of words. Much love ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LifeofRung August 4, 2016 / 7:29 pm

    Hello! I am sending a message to all those who followed my Littlest Anchor blog that my thoughts have found a new home over and woodlandandwave here on wordprress. Please feel free to follow me there for all the same content. Thank you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

