Evidence: In My Own Skin

I don’t know what’s hidden behind your own pigment. As an individual, I can’t speak for your own representation, the way you want the world to see you, the way you choose to feel.

Picture gotten from-BlackandWhite

I use “I”.

I use it because as a person, you are allowed what you are, your opinions, thoughts, perception. Freedom. You.

What about “us”?

Collectively we’ve made generations, we’ve brought about various changes, we’ve stood against fear, we’ve beared war strokes, we’ve failed and conquered, we’ve told these stories over and over yet we’ve only been able to achieve these by mere differences in skin colour.

You still believe in different races?

How many parents have inculcated values, norms and discipline without speaking of other skin colours? How many of us have been promised a position or title without having a black, white or mixed skin option stall us? How many are guilty of the type of skin colour they allow in their space? How many still don’t believe in one race, the human race?

“I’m white, you’re not, I’m black, you’re not”

How long are we willing to go on for?

As a black woman, I believe in my roots and culture. I believe in the wars of my heroes’ past. I believe that those wars were won for my freedom today. I believe I’m seldom jugded by the profounding effect of my melanocytes, distrusted often and doubted when I’m most willing. I believe I have to be sorry even when I’m not, questioned for my rights in another man’s country. I believe I have to go hard if ever I want to rise above standards. I believe I’m unique, so are you, no matter what your skin colour is.

In this age, more people are being educated on oneness, more are taught on accepting every other distinct colour from theirs yet, in this age the skin colour black still bleeds. It is still perceived as unaccepted in most parts of the world, demeaning individuals who bear them.

How more can I be Human?

Dyna Ekwueme Copyright, 2016.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Izrael says:

    I feel that racial stereotypes has and will always be prominent in the society no matter what generation it is. It will take long years of education for the society to acknowledge that we are all human races. While the condition now is much better than before, I felt that more needs to be done in order for the society to see us as a whole. Colonisation has been playing a huge role in this and this is the reason why being the White race is viewed as the supreme one. No matter how one argues, the media has played a huge role in this in terms of news, shows or politics. I hope that this has not sparked any hatred for any race but that is my view in this matter. Thanks for the great and informative post. Much love.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ipeniwrite says:

    I believe it will take more years for us to recognise our oneness like you said, as we haven’t yet lost the identity we used to stand for. If only we begin to see ourselves as the problem and not our skin colour, the way we treat each other and the ignorance we hold when we ignore unfairness, we will all view this subject from one perspective but it’s not the way it’s played out in the society today. I appreciate your opinion and self expression on this subject Izrael. Thank you for your thoughts🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  3. chrisdavies09 says:

    Identity politics, which originated in America decades ago in response to discrimination and oppression, has since gone on to become an obstacle in the path to peace and unity, in my opinion. This is because it divides everybody in to simple categories and pits them against each other. The other issue is that here in Europe not everybody is just “white” or “black”, people are conscious of their backgrounds. Not so much “white” as English, Welsh, polish, Albanian, Spanish, Russian etc. And not so much “black” but Jamaican, Zimbabwean, Nigerian, Igbo, Yoruba, Somali, Kenyan, etc. Whereas in America everybody is neatly pigeonholed into a box, “white” or “black”, and you then must conform to a particular set of attributes accordingly.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. ipeniwrite says:

    This establishment that was created to categorise people is a form of societal pressure, hypocritically tampering with equal rights and entitlement regardless of where you are from. This has thus created that segregation between people of different skin colours outside their homes even when they are being taught by their parents that everyone is equal. I must say your opinion is one form dear as Society plays a bigger role in the broad picture. Thank you for sharing this🌸

    Liked by 2 people

  5. kimadaza says:

    this post leaves a mark. Thank you for this post. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ipeniwrite says:

    Thank you too🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  7. monlvz says:

    Being a brown girl, it took me a long time to love even myself. I grew up with a lot of internalized racism, as I lived in a predominantly white community. It is such a shame that these thoughts are ingrained in us at such a young age.
    I didn’t really start being “body positive” until I was maybe 17.
    It can be hard.

    I honestly don’t know if we will ever get past the racial inequalities people of color are facing every single day. From institutionalized racism, to blunt in your face racism, it can be really hard to even have hope.

    Someday, hopefully. But we have a long ways to go.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. ipeniwrite says:

    I believe there are loads of people who certainly can fit in your shoes and also people who haven’t been able to bring themselves out of the place they’ve been placed by society. I’m glad that we are aware of these as people of colour, it’s only sad that the past still seem to appear like prints in our faces as target for racists. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this post🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  9. gruundehn says:

    Too many politicians and activists are making too much money off of the discrimination cause for there ever to be an end of racial problems. Morgan Freeman had a great comment years ago to Mike Wallace; basically, stop focusing on race and it will heal itself, keep picking at the scab and it will never heal.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Fijay says:

    As usual a very eloquent and thoughtful piece Dyna ….another one I may share with my son if/when the right opportunity presents itself Thankyou:)

    Liked by 1 person

  11. ipeniwrite says:

    That is right. Time however will tell if we’ll ever stop. Thank you for sharing 🌸

    Like

  12. ipeniwrite says:

    He won’t lose touch if you do. Thank you Fijay🌸🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  13. bhdandme says:

    Interesting article …very thought provoking. I grew up in a divided society (still is), but not so much by skin colour, which in my childhood was very monochromatic, as by voice – which instantly betrayed (and still does), class and regional origins (all equally absurd). Thanks for visiting the blog, and following.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. ipeniwrite says:

    Thank you for your vulnerability and for sharing your thoughts too. Would be expecting your posts too🌸

    Like

Leave a Reply

