Necessities of a less active blogger

As there are more people who blog part-time and during their leisure than those who blog as a full time job, there are essentials that can help you post whenever you’re ready, if you’re one of the former. Not necessarily blogging after 6 months or a year but frequently as it keeps you engaged with your beautiful thoughts and your audience whilst away from your website.

Picture gotten from-Teaandblog

Here are three key necessities I’ve picked out and collectively, I use them to stay active outside my blog.

  • Writing material/ Implement– This is anything ranging from a pen and paper , to sketch pads, phones/gadgets or even jotters that you can conveniently carry around with you, just in case inspiration strikes anywhere. I conveniently use Notes on my phone to write down and describe briefly what it is that comes to my head. This can also come in handy when writing a totally different piece as you can refer to your material/ implement.
  • Camera– As the world keeps developing, more people are becoming visual learners as they can read more meaning and put words together just by looking at pictures. You may not consider this a necessity but you should know that images go a long way to help you remember scenarios. It captures the moment, telling you “what” and “where” and sometimes even  “when”. This can then help you recollect memories and add new ideas to what you intend on posting. Cameras can come in form of mobile phones (which of course should have an in-built camera) or an actual camera which you can get online or in stores at affordable prices.
  • Reminder-Let’s all call this the “motivational piece”. Procrastination is one sting that we all have and refuse to get an antidote for, so, having a reminder can push us to post our short-saved thoughts and ideas. You can either set an alarm/(s), tick a date on your calendar, tell a friend to remind you, jot it down somewhere or save your notes on your drafts to help tell you when to publish. There is no universal reminder I can recommend than to do/use what works best for you.

I believe these essentials are necessary for someone who blogs less but thinks more. If there are anymore that you can think of,  I’d like you to air your opinion in the comment box below. Thank you.

Dyna Ekwueme Copyright, 2016.

 

22 Comments Add yours

  1. lorigreer says:

    Good suggestions. I squeeze in blogging whenever I find some time. These ideas should help me. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ipeniwrite says:

    I’m glad you found some ideas in this piece. Thank you for reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ipeniwrite says:

    Thank you too🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ocean Bream says:

    Great tips. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great read. I did find some useful information. Thank you for the ideas. One more item you might consider using – (I don’t have a smart phone and I rarely use the cell phone I have) so I picked up an electronic recorder. It’s about the size of a small phone, weighs very little and fits in pocket/purse. I find it really useful because sometimes you just don’t have the time or the necessary materials to write your notes.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Izrael says:

    Thanks for the great suggestions! As someone who is on and off on my WordPress, I find these tips to be helpful. I have a list of blog posts ideas written down on the drafts section so that I can write them down whenever I am free.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. iamjoycemacleod says:

    I’m in this position – great tips that I will definitely try out! Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  8. ipeniwrite says:

    Thank you🌸. No worries

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This is really good advice, thanks! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. ipeniwrite says:

    That’s a great idea and an ideal way to store information and ideas for long-term retrieval too. Seems really convenient. Thank you for the extra information 🌸 Someone who’s not a fan of smart phones might buy the idea of using one. Thank you for reading too🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  11. ipeniwrite says:

    Yea I do that sometimes and it surprisingly works for me too. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and reading too🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  12. ipeniwrite says:

    You’re welcome 🌸. Thank you for reading

    Liked by 1 person

  13. ipeniwrite says:

    You’re welcome dear🌸👍🏽

    Liked by 1 person

  14. chrisdavies09 says:

    This post is useful, thanks. The part about procrastination really strikes a chord with me as I am a natural procrastinator. I find that when I get a rare moment of silence and solitude I work better and procrastinate less. I think with you as your art-form is creative writing, blogging is probably one of the best tools which you have available. For me I’ve found recently that Twitter has been the best avenue for getting my ideas out, even though I only joined it in the hope of using it to drive Traffic to my blog [which worked a little].

    Liked by 1 person

  15. ipeniwrite says:

    I get to deal with procrastinating even when I’m in a quite place trying to draft something tangible, “should I finish? should I not?”. I only find that not finishing helps sometimes and it also adds more content to the piece, but it usually takes longer than usual before I get to publish it here. That’s a brilliant idea, tweeting. You must be good with compressing ideas into tiny chunks for your readers to feel what they ought to. It’s good also if it’s of benefit to your blog. I wish you all the best of luck. Thank you for airing your thoughts on here🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  16. chrisdavies09 says:

    Thanks. Twitter handle is: @NCIElanguage . I do follow you on Twitter already.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. ipeniwrite says:

    👍🏽 looking forward to your tweets👍🏽

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I happened across an app called Wunderlist which is basically a to-do list. I use it to program in writing and reading time for each day. Then I can tick a box to say I did it. It seems to work well to spur me on.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. ipeniwrite says:

    That seems like an efficient way to get things done. If it works best for you, then good for you dear. Thank you sharing the name of the app🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  20. No problem. Someone else shared it with me and I feel it’s a great help so I’m happy to pass it on 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  21. ipeniwrite says:

    I’m glad you got to have a read. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

