The magic in ‘first times’

I had an Asian friend who I had known for over a year leave me a goodbye note. On it, part of what she had written said “..it’s been a really great pleasure to have met you, my very first Negro friend”. To be totally honest with you, I had a rush of mixed feelings just reading that line. I laughed, got offended, laughed again, cried and ran out to give her a tight hug. Why? Firstly, I imagined being her only black friend out of the battalion of my kind we have in our city, Brighton. I also thought how naive she was not to know that calling me a ‘Negro’ was sort of offensive but I read that line again and laughed again “..my very first Negro friend”. At that moment it occurred to me that, I wasn’t going to see her again until fate or coincidence brings us back together. I thought of her presence for the past one year and how time loves goodbyes. I cried for a girl for the first time in my life.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

What am I insinuating?

You won’t know the feeling of magic until you experience something for the first time. It may not be like mine with someone triggering the effect, it may just be you creating and experiencing your own magic. Perhaps, the word ‘magic’ can be a bit too imaginative. Let’s call it a sensational feeling, one that renews your adrenaline. Think about the first time you had done/started something (esp. something that you love and chose to do). The feeling definitely doesn’t feel like the end of it, it doesn’t equate to the time it begins to grow weary, it’s so alive. That, sometimes is what pushes us to finish or continue, the thought of what and why we started. Sometimes the memory it leaves builds up and takes over our strength to carry through even when the initial thought is dead. The magic in ‘first times’ should be felt as often as the zeal you have for consistency.

When was the first time you decided to go for a walk, or probably read a book? When was the first time you chose to change your hair colour, take another route to work? When was the first time you gave something you cherish to the needy or leave someone random kind words? When was the first time you chose to meditate, to switch off and go offline for a while? When was the last time you told the people you cherish how much you appreciate and love them, the first time you hung out with people that are not in your class, race or even circle? These may all sound daunting or probably scary but believe me you, the feeling you get from ‘first times’ are more reviving than the consistent thing you’ve been doing your whole life.

So?

Get up! Go out! and experience your own magic! dear reader.

Dyna Ekwueme Copyright, 2016.

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. I should do those things I’ve never done before but always want to do.
    Love this..
    Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ipeniwrite says:

    Thank you for having a read🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Delitesome says:

    Seeing this brings back memories. Thanks for liking one of my posts. I appreciate it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ipeniwrite says:

    Thank you too🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  5. regalyere says:

    Nice post. Definitely brings back memories from when I first came to America and was a lot of ESOL students’ first “negro friend” lol

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ipeniwrite says:

    Thank you for having a read dear.

    Like

  7. I loved your first paragraph. I loved how her words pulled you back and forth. It felt so honest and real.

    I work with many cultures and races altogether and it’s interesting how much time we spend talking about commonalities and differences. I wonder when we will all just be us?

    Anyway, I loved your post. Lovely photo!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. candidkay says:

    New experiences feed us. I believe that.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. cominghomeq says:

    This is amazing, thankyou!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. ipeniwrite says:

    That’s great to know Amor. I’m glad this got you thinking. Thank you for reading 🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  11. ipeniwrite says:

    Thank you too dear

    Like

Leave a Reply

