Reaching

I may write for you.

I may write for parts of you that were whole when you held on to the slips.

Image result for shame in black and white

Picture gotten from-Academichustler1975

I could ask when last you saw green, the colour, the scent, the pure green. When? I may choose to go on and rant about the look in your eyes when you see old notes, songs you shared that you refuse to listen to now. How about the people that remind you of who you used to be? How often do you break your noise with your own silence? This is me thinking about you.

When I chose to get lost in the sight of reality, I mean when I chose to disappear yet again, I unlearned a lot gradually. I could tell you that everyday that passed induced pain, from withdrawals to set backs and back to me again yet, I still chose to stay out of sight. Did I make better friends? No, I found a better friend in me. Was I convinced about validation not from self? Yes and I’m learning to be more content and humble.

When it’s not always about you, you’d notice even the little girl that was kidnapped in another continent. When you are more present, the people you love become an investment. You feel genuine laughter choking your lungs and taking your breathe all away. Each passerby will teach you without speaking to you. Your cravings change so will people that you think revolve around you. Those who found you to be more convenient when it was for them, you won’t see anymore. The tune you dance to all of a sudden changes and everyday will begin to remind you of days you haven’t spent. Time becomes money.

There’s a fever we’ve all caught and depending on the way we choose to treat it, we’d either die from it or live with it for better. The fever that has slowly eaten up our sense of belonging, a fever that has made us a bit too sensitive pushing many of us literates to ignorance and self-destruct. We want to live a better life but we don’t know how, even when we find out ways to do so, we gamble with time. We want to be the best version of ourselves yet, we find it difficult to move on. We creep into other people’s lives to feel better about ours. This fever has forcefully made us to place conditions on every little thing we give, even the purest, love. How else are we supposed to reach when we ignore our surroundings and choose to live on deciphered codes with hideous intentions and emotions?

Have a life whilst living for others.

Would love you to share your beautiful thoughts with me dear readers. Thank you.

Dyna Ekwueme Copyright, 2016.

 

12 thoughts on “Reaching

  1. noblethemes January 15, 2017 / 12:09 am

    I think this is very astutely written, packed full of observational truth, and quite appropriate for our day and time. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ipeniwrite January 15, 2017 / 12:16 am

    Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts dear🌸 I appreciate

    Liked by 1 person

  3. noblethemes January 15, 2017 / 12:50 am

    You are most certainly welcome… All the best to you w/peace and blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. paitovargas January 16, 2017 / 4:16 am

    Living with a purpose👌 Very insightful message! Thank you for sharing and following!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. novelistbaba January 16, 2017 / 2:53 pm

    love the aggression and frustration……..we need to stop from time to time and start living, again. 🙂 🙂

    Like

  6. ipeniwrite January 16, 2017 / 6:40 pm

    Yesss!..thank you for leaving your thoughts on this.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. treykoma January 17, 2017 / 9:31 am

    This. This is absolutely beautiful, and permeated with raw honesty. I love!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. ipeniwrite January 17, 2017 / 11:58 am

    I’m glad you found it so. Thank you for sharing dear🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  9. edotali February 17, 2017 / 9:18 am

    This was a beautiful read! Yes I agree it was full of observational truth reminded me of the book of Ecclesiastes in the Bible. So much wisdom!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. ipeniwrite February 17, 2017 / 10:50 am

    I’m glad it did dear..thank you for having a read🌸

    Like

Leave a Reply

