Struggling out of a 2:2 this final year: my Biomedical Science tale

img_1622

I barely bore you with events of my university life on here but I know once in a while I drop one or two major ones. Going back to 2015, my first year, I had blogged about my resits (What if? #17), how awful it felt to had seen my name amongst those resitting Genetics and Statistics. How sad and unlucky my summer was. What I didn’t include was calling my parents and letting them know about the situation. The disappointment in their tone as they spoke to me whilst trying to be good parents and not make me feel worse about the whole situation, the after effect of the whole conversation moved me. I guess my attitude towards everything relating to university and my course became more questionable as days, months and years went by.

Second year was heavy. As my course is a three-year course here in the UK, more pressure was mounted on me and more effort was equally demanded with the load that came with the 12 modules I had done last year. The hustle to secure a placement made it even worse but that wasn’t an excuse not to scale through. At the end of the year, I was awoken yet again by another resit which until today I have managed to  hide from my parents as I felt they would be bitter and really angry towards me if I had told them. Genetics again! At some point in time I joked about it to my friends, telling them how I’m “KINGING” in genetics resit zone. What felt terrible isn’t the fact that I had a resit, what made me break down most nights was the fact that 2:2 ends up being my portion even when I always seem to start off very well at the beginning of each semester. At some point, I just stopped asking why and accepted that university wasn’t for me. Thoughts of dropping out kicked in every now and then but the friends in my circle kept me grounded. They said my prayers with me, cried with me and most of all, they contributed to my healing and strength which led me into pursuing my final year.

It’s the 25th of February today, 22 weeks into final year and there is still no salvaging to my results so far. It hasn’t been stable and at the same time it hasn’t been the most brilliant. One half of my project and most of my course works released so far have been fluctuating with 2:1’s and 2:2’s. My first semester results came out and this time Genetics crossed the cut off point with only 7 marks and I’m most grateful to God for that miracle! the other paper sat comfortably on a 2:1 which to me is gracious. Hard-work and resilience have been with me since the school year started and to be honest with you,  it is a struggle trying to move up from a 2:2. I am 3 weeks into second semester  with 3 more course works, 4 more exams and my main project to finish. I am still with hope and so should you who is reading this thinking you’re sitting in the worst position or situation in life.

If everyone was equal, there wouldn’t be no school, no competition whatsoever and definitely no evolution but other people’s success shouldn’t stall us from ours or blind us from attaining  unmeasurable success instead it should push us.

img_1625

I did tweet this last week but it doesn’t mean I can’t do better. In fact it is not an excuse! It is the reason why I’m pushing to move on from a 2:2, proving to myself that even if it’s not for me, it is definitely not impossible!

I hope you find a grip too and go on from there dear reader. Do leave your thoughts and comments in the box below. Thank you.

Dyna Ekwueme Copyright, 2017.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. noblethemes says:

    Your resilience is inspiring, as is your whole article, to me personally. Thank you for sharing this difficult part of your life, and God bless you as you finish your school work!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ipeniwrite says:

    I’m really grateful for your words and wishes. God bless you too🌸

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wsaleem says:

    i find this to be a really common thread in university students. I also struggled with is my money and time worth all of this. Feeling along, de-motivated, depressed. But i find all of that to be great lessons and events that have formed me. It was good for the experience. What got me through was just counting down until I was done, until I saw light at the end of the tunnel and realized that tunnel leads to more darkness and uncertainty about the future lol
    I wrote the following 2 posts about my last year at uni:
    https://expressedreality.wordpress.com/2014/04/29/ambitious-yet-rubbish-a-bucket-list/
    https://expressedreality.wordpress.com/2014/05/13/university-time/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ipeniwrite says:

    I’m at that phase you had left the quote “…where the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful…” in your undergraduate year. Reading your recommended blog posts gave me some sort of relief. You’ve made me more aware that I’m not alone and thank you for that. Our experiences are what will drive us out of darkness eventually, our acceptance of what’s happened and our hope on what’s coming. At the end, it’s not who finished first, but how well? Which should resonate in our minds every now and then. Thank you for sharing this episode of your life. I appreciate

    Like

  5. olufarai says:

    I totally know the feeling. You’ll be fine dear

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ipeniwrite says:

    Thank you Olufarai🌸

    Like

  7. tigre23 says:

    Remember the grades in Uni are measuring only a small part of your abilities. Keep up the good work! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

