Nwoke’m

Do you ever listen to your own repetitive connections at 03:00 am too?

Image result for sexy black man in black and white

Picture gotten from-Pininterest

I’m starting to think imaginations are art. I’m starting to love the entangling emotions built from it. How strangely I could be fluid and solid like an umelted candle at the same time. I’m starting to feel all the same.

Yesterday, I thought. The day before I did too and many days and months before then again, I’ve been thinking. How would someone like you meet me? Would it be spontaneous, would be soft or angry? Would it be in a crowded room or when I’m by myself. That’s the scary part of thinking. I don’t want to be ready. I want to be with myself in full, in love, vulnerable and loud. I want us to meet unforced just like the universe has been with me lately. No mind games, no holding back. I like the modern approach, the evolution of it all. Descriptive dialogues and unending gist of our taste in music, books, movies and other people, what we worry about when it gets dark. Tell me where else you would be when you’re not with me.

Nwoke’m

When you’re here, your past is. The darkness of it won’t scare my love, I pray. The time you choose to be weak, I’ll be strong, I pray. The time you’d change, I’d learn to adapt, I pray. These are not my affirmations, they are hopefully who I’ll grow to be for me and for you until that “someday”. I believe our feet have come across same footpaths more than twice, I believe time is keeping you for magic. You are a future to wait for.

Keep yourself for me.

Nwoke’m (Igbo translation for “my man”)

Dyna Ekwueme Copyright, 2017.

6 thoughts on “Nwoke’m

  1. jacquelineobyikocha March 12, 2017 / 6:01 am

    Yes, dreams and imaginations are art that sometimes finds its way to seep into our real lives. Love yourself fully, vulnerably and loudly as you rightly said. When your nwoke m comes, you’ll be more than ready. I enjoyed reading this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ipeniwrite March 12, 2017 / 10:49 am

    Thank you for resounding this Jacqueline🌸..I appreciate your words and the video you left me

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kay March 17, 2017 / 3:11 am

    isn’t it funny how another’s post can convey your thoughts too.
    I really enjoyed this.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ipeniwrite March 18, 2017 / 10:56 pm

    I’m glad you could relate. Thank you for reading🌸

    Like

Leave a Reply

